Purpose & History


The St. Augustine Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA) is a public agency consisting of the members of the City Commission, who are enabled by the Community Redevelopment Act (1969) to implement redevelopment activities at the local level.


The St. Augustine CRA oversees two Community Redevelopment Areas within the City of St. Augustine:

  • The Historic Area Transportation and Parking Community Redevelopment Area (HACRA)
  • The Lincolnville Community Redevelopment Area (LCRA)

Finding of Necessity Study

In order to establish a Community Redevelopment Area, a formal study must be conducted called a "Finding of Necessity" to assess conditions of blight in a proposed area. A technical term defined in the Florida Statutes, blight means an area exhibits signs of physical and economic distress.


The St. Augustine CRA was established in 2000 in conjunction with the HTPCRA to address conditions of blight connected with traffic and parking in the downtown area.

In 2013, the LCRA was established to address blight connected with inadequate lot sizes and street layout, and deteriorating buildings and sites in Lincolnville.

Board Members

St. Augustine CRA Board Members include:

  • Mayor Tracy Upchurch
  • Vice Mayor Leanna Freeman
  • Commissioner Roxanne Horvath
  • Commissioner Nancy Sikes-Kline
  • Commissioner John Valdes

Finance Information

View Financial Information for the LCRA and HACRA. Financial reporting for all local governments in Florida, including St. Augustine, can be viewed at the Florida Department of Financial Services website.

More Resources

To learn more about the state legislation under which the Lincolnville CRA operates, visit: